Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best way to get better

Hello,

I just started learning and I want to progress, but I have limited time to be on the slopes.

Is there a way to train basic skills at home?

Also, is there a particular exercise that would help me strengthen the muscles used while learning? (I was really sore after my first day out)

Finally, what should I work on once I get out to the beginner's runs?
    (I've been trying "hockey stops" both left and right, I can't seem to figure out how to hold an edge so I can barely turn at any speed, should I be snowplowing?)

Thanks!

Wecome to the forum. You are just hours away from enjoyment and freedom skiboarding will bring to you.

The best way to get better is to go riding with someone more experienced. Watch for "meet and ride" posts in your area.

If you have not done so already, check out this thread that includes videos on technique and rider suggestions: http://www.skiboardsonline.com/vbull...ead.php?t=6725

As for conditioning at home, many suggest "wall squats" to strengthen your legs/thighs.

If you are getting sore quickly, a few considerations are:
    * hydrate starting the day before
    * do not run the skiboards flat to the ground like skis, keep them on edge
    * practice getting them on edge on a piece of carpet at home (the thread above describes what to do)
    * DO NOT V plow!

Here are a few other threads that have additional insights from then new rider experiences:
    http://www.skiboardsonline.com/vbull...highlight=aqua

http://www.skiboardsonline.com/vbull...light=matthies
    sigpic

Osprey, Sherpa, Custom Coda 120WT, Custom DS110, Condor (Green), Spliff

Custom Twist Out duck foot bindings, Bombers (custom duck foot base plate and 3 pads), releasable S810ti on custom duck foot riser

Nordica N3 NXT ski boots (best so far)

Wife: 104 SII & 100 Blunt XL with S810ti bindings on custom "adjustable duck foot" risers