Hey! Look at the newbie!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey! Look at the newbie!

First off, let me just send out a big thank you to Greco for being patient with me and helping me through the registration for this board. My email client apparently ate my activation email twice...but finally, here I am. Thanks dude!

As the title says, I'm a newb, so do bear with me for a while. I'm a convert from alpine skiing, which I did for about 5 years before on a whim I rented a pair of Salomon Snowblades at Okemo two years ago and it was probably one of the best sliding experiences I've ever had. I was hooked by the end of the first run, and riding fakie by the middle of the second. I was so stoked that, whichout doing proper research first...shame on me...I went to my local ski shop and bought a pair of Snowblades, finding out only a few days ago through this site that I'd sunk a couple hundred bucks into the most inferior skiboards on the market. Joy. Oh well...they'll get me down the slopes for a season or two whilest I save up.

I'm planning on going out as often as possible this season and from now on, since I've finally found a sport this addictive. Here's where my questions start flying. On skis, I was pretty much a mid-intermediate level cruiser. I was content just to make it from the top of the hill to the bottom, exploring the mountain and finding the most fun lines I could. But I can already tell, on skiboards, that's going to get a little dull after a while. I really want to start hitting the terrain park, but I'd like as much advice as possible before I do so I don't end up spending most of the day on my ass. So if anyone would be willing to take some time to impart some knowledge from setting up for a kicker, to what to do in the air (which tricks are good to start off with), to sticking the landing, it would be much appreciated.