Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommendations for a taller/heavier guy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommendations for a taller/heavier guy?

Whats up everybody, I'm JB. I'm 25, 6'3" and 240lbs. I started skiing and snowblading about 10 years ago, so I'm not technically "new" to this...but it's been a very, very long time since I've broken out my old pair of K2 Fatties (they are probably still in my mom's attic somewhere, lol). Some time has passed, and lots of stuff has changed. I'm about 4" taller and 70 pounds heavier than I was back when I got into this, and I'm finding that I really don't have a clue what I need to get back into this and start enjoying myself on the slopes again.

I've tried snowboarding 3 times now, and I've come to the conclusion that my brain CANNOT wrap itself around the idea of sliding down a mountain sideways. I'm either butterknifing or on my ass the whole time when I try to board, so screw that. I've gotta be facing forward!

So with that being said, can someone point me in the right direction? I won't be hitting the terrain park or anything like that...I'm too tall and heavy to catch air, heh. I'll be sticking to the nice easy groomed runs until I gain some confidence. Not sure where I'll take it after that point, but I need a well rounded set of boards that will accomodate someone of my height and weight, and take me through a variety of snow conditions. I'm a little over an hour away from Breck, so thats probably where I'd be most of the time.

I'm looking at the R8 101cm KTPs w/ Spruce Pro Sport Risers and release bindings since they seem to be a decent board thats not too short or too long...but I really don't know what to get, or how to tailor the length for someone who is as tall as I am and weighs as much as I do

Sorry for the long intro post, but theres alot of stuff on my mind lol. Great community you have here, I'm looking forward to learning alot. Thanks in advance!