noob looking for advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• noob looking for advice

Hey guys. Im a noob to skiboards and have been reading/lurking the forums, checking out the board selection thread, and watching youtube videos trying to educate myself. I am a snowboarder with about 20 years experience. I live in MD and ride a lot of MD/PA mountains, which means usually groomed mountains with ice patches as we tend to get a lot of warm/freeze cycles with a lot of artificial snow and not that many days of fresh powder. In my current age as a dad with a wife and kiddo, I probably go 1-3 times a season. I can ice skate and used to play hockey/inline skating, so I've been drawn to skiboards for a few seasons but never pulled the trigger. I'd call myself an intermediate snowboarder. I like long winding green/blue trails which maximize my lift-to-ride time ratio. Im 5'8, 175-180 lbs.

The group of folks I hit the mountains with are a mix of snowboarders and skiers. Id like to be able to keep my snowboard boots on all day long and maybe do snowboarding in the morning and then have the ability to throw on some skiboards for a chance of pace without having to lug around/buy a new set of boots. Therefore, im looking for a setup which works with snowboard boots and ive seen the technine DS bindings and the fiveforty bindings which look like good options but im having a hard time choosing a skiboard.

I've checked out the skiboard selection table and its been a great resource, but a lot of the skiboards I was looking at at skiboardsonline, summit, skiboards.com etc arent listed on the table. I'd prefer to buy a used set to help "ease" my way into the sport and make sure I like it before I buy a brand new set, but im having a hard time guessing when I see a used set for sale if it would work well for my height/weight combination and my preferred terrain (groomed/icy MD/PA mountains) which prioritizes stability and agility over deep powder and terrain parks.