choosing a good line

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• choosing a good line

Since I am new to the whole concept of skiboards and skiing. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestion on choosing lines when descending. I feel like i pick the wrong line or maybe i'm to passive. Any advice would be great. Thanks Derrick

This is a great question and subject. The concept you are looking for is called "skiing the slow line fast". Sorry, I can't link articles from work on my phone, but if you put that phrase into Google you will come up with several great threads on the subject. A ski coach called Bob Barnes who posts a lot on the Epic Ski forum is credited with the concept. Try to find his thoughts on the subject.
    Just these, nothing else !

Comment

thanks Wolf i'll do that. i went skiing today and found myself a couple times not seeing the line, and the hard edging and getting behind my skis.

Comment

this is a great question and especially important when skiing off piste , into trees, variable snow , obstacles , and changing terrain , steeps , cliffs , etc,
        I think my rule is first to be very comfortable with your particular board of choice and how it performs in all types of conditions .
        that is why I so much like having one board that I ride pretty much all the time so that I am very aware of how to pilot the board in all conditions , how fast it will go in different snow conditions , how manuverable it is , how easy it is to turn , etc

Then at the top of a run before I take off, I look down a line and kind of follow along it mentally and plan in general where I am going to attack it , and how .

then as I get into the line ,I will be making moment to moment decisions as to how much space I need to give myself to turn , how fast I can be going etc , etc . .

again having confidence in how your board performs and your ability to pilot the board is really important to making the line work .