Newbie here.... Thinking about renting a set of Skiboards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here.... Thinking about renting a set of Skiboards

I currently snowboard and was thinking about trying a set of Skiboards since I have never ski'd. Therefore I was wondering if I can use my 4x4 bindings and soft boots off my snowboard with a set of rented/demoed ski boards from this site? Will this work , am I missing something?

Thank you !

Originally posted by JKeshler View Post
    I currently snowboard and was thinking about trying a set of Skiboards since I have never ski'd. Therefore I was wondering if I can use my 4x4 bindings and soft boots off my snowboard with a set of rented/demoed ski boards from this site? Will this work , am I missing something?

Thank you !
    Yes, the conversion kit.
    http://www.skiboardsonline.com/p/rvl8softbootkit.html
    Spruce Crossbow 115 "Ski Track" skiboards - My Go To skiboards
    Tyrolia Attack2 13 GW release bindings on Spruce Risers
    Nordica HF110 ski boots

Comment

Yes and No (or Maybe).

Yes -- You can use your snowboard boots with shorter skiboards (under 110cm) in a soft boot binding provided they are stiffer boots.

No (or Maybe) -- Your bindings may or may not work but will likely require some modifications. First, Skiboarding requires more lateral stability than snowboarding so you need a ridge highback binding and will need to add a third top strap and perhaps wings to the binding to get that stabilty. Next, you need to get the binding up off the board with a riser so you may need to add that to make it all work.

I am a hardboot guy and there are others here that ride softboots that will chime in with more details. SBOL sells at kit to convert bindings, as Gromit listed, but it's not cheap and I guess you are asking to save a little cash or at least save some before you commit to the sport.
      Boards:
      2016 Spruce tuned Head Jr. Caddys - 131cm
      2013 Spruce "CTS" 120s