No Poles - Much Smoother Form - Very Weird

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Poles - Much Smoother Form - Very Weird

On the afternoon of the final day at the moguls course I recently took, the instructor had us ski moguls with no poles. We put our poles in one hand and skied the runs. My skiing improved a lot. I was a bit puzzled as to why, but the instructor said this was a common occurrence. Logically, one reason for the improvement might be that by not using poles you were removing one variable (holding them in the right position according to the teaching methodology, doing the pole touch properly to start each turn, etc). But, I have been skiing with poles for the last 5 1/2 years.

At Day One of Elk Jam III yesterday I was using the "slow skiing" techniques quite a bit. My turn initiation is still not "quiet" enough and the first part of my turns often were not as smooth as they could have been. So, I stop using my poles holding them in one hand again. Wallah - my skiing instantly improved. Turn initiation issues went away, hand/arm positioning throughout the turn was much better and my skiing technique was much more fluid. Still can't figure out the reason, but who am I to question. I skied without using my poles the last 1/3 of the day and skied great. I did not use poles on the last run down Tunkhannock, Elk's steep mogul run. That run was my best - still not great overall, but better and the final third of the run was good.