Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jason Levinthal

http://www.newschoolers.com/memberne...A?c=latest&o=2

A Q&A with Jason Levinthal as he retires from LINE and starts his new company a lot of skiboard history involved.

Thanks for posting that. Interesting Q&A. Some great stuff on the early days of skiboarding and some great photos. I pulled out some nuggets:

Jason re regrets he had: "The only regret I have is not finding the time to make long twin tip skis earlier because we were too busy building what people referred to as 'skiboards'." That is interesting and given the way history played out I can understand why he says that. Too bad Line didn't have the bandwidth to do both - continue progressing skiboards and build twin tip skis.

Factory in basement - check out the original Line 96 boards on the left:

Check out the "wall of fame" of boards in this photo - original Line 96s, Mike Nick Pros, etc hanging on the wall - I am not an expert on the Line boards that were sold but I spot a few other fatties that I wonder if they ever were sold retail -

Line ad with skis that used inserts to mount the binding -

More Line 96s:

Original drawing and thoughts for specs of the Line 96s:

Do you miss the skiboard days? Was there something in particular the was a catalyst for your move to start making skis? -Maximumsushi

For me the word “skiboard” was just a word people used because they didn’t have the guts or vision for the sport’s future to simply call it what it was, a ski. Just like people using the word, “newschool skiing” 10 years ago or “freeskiing” today. The catalyst for me to make this type of ski was my own personal dissatisfaction as a skier with ski performance at the time.

Line 96s at first SIA tradeshow these boards appeared at:

Line History Book - Part 1 - some great history on early days of skiboards: http://jasonlevinthal.com/
    In pursuit of Peace, Harmony and Flow.....
    Think Like a Mountain