Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi From Australia

Hi From Australia

I'm fairly new to skiboarding as this season was the second time I've tried. First time I was on a pair of Canon CS and snapped one of the boards (seemingly they were prone to fractures near the binding) and I fractured a rib too. This time around was waaaay better though. Bought a pair of '11 DLP's with spruce risers and release bindings and went to New Zealand with the wife.

Got up on the intermediate slopes on the first day and tried the park too. Received a lesson from a skiboard wearing instructor who showed my wife an I the correct stance plus how to stop on various runs including some blacks. He then proceeded to show us how to carve and do 360's too. Anyway absolutely love these boards!!!!

Skiboards over this side of the world though seem to attract a lot of hate from adults ???? but the kids think they're awesome. They're always approaching my wife and I to find out what they are and what they can do and even try to catch up with us on the slopes.

Off to Zao Onsen in Japan at the end of the year. I'll see how I go in powder then....

Cheers, Donny

Welcome welcome, Good to hear you're enjoying the DLP's a great set of boards
    Unless you risk it, you don't know what it is.
    *Proud designer of the SBOL hoodie*

Comment

Hey Donny-

Welcome! You broke your rib right when starting out and still came back for more? You've got my respect already. That's hardcore.

Young or old, people in the Northwest US are pretty cool with skiboarding with the occasional exception. I find the region I ride in makes a big difference. Also, areas with a stronger big mountain following seem to be more skeptical. If younger riders are more supportive, I guess that just makes skiboarding an awesome way to stay young, right?

Dang man, I have a life dream of experiencing Japan and its powder riding. I am so jealous!

www.sfc-usa.com

Comment

G'day Donny,