Receptor Performance and Position

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Receptor Performance and Position

With the new 4x4+2* binding mount pattern available now, I figured it was worth asking what effect boot position on a Receptor makes to performance, and maybe to the health of the binding.

I've been riding my Receptors asymmetrically for a few years to get the maximum possible setback... in other words, use the front mounting holes first, then set the heel piece all the way to the back of the binding before mounting the toe piece to fit my boot. I've never seen a big issue with it, but do tend to gradually bend the base plates on my Receptors. I'll have to look at a set of plates to see where the bend happens relative to the rest of the binding... It might create greater leverage on the rear half of the binding, and seem to remember that I bend plates forward from the back.

Aside from potentially damaging the binding, is it likely that Receptors perform better with the boot centered on the plate? I can't quite get my head around whether this would make a difference in a non-releasable binding.

I'm drooling over the new Playmakers and would guess that by using the rear set of 4x4 holes, there would be a lot less need for binding-based setback.

On a related note, any performance hints relative to the two mounting positions from prototype testing on the Playmaker, or the other boards with this pattern? I would imagine it would make a difference to the way a cambered board flexes, but not so sure how it would affect the ride on a full rocker, other than the usual setback effects of floatier tips and somewhat sketchier tails.

*did the math - can I call it the 18? The RVL18?
    Push the Possible