Waxing - what am I doing wrong ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Waxing - what am I doing wrong ?

I've been waxing my boards for 4-5 years by now, first I've read several topics on the forum, watched some videos to learn how to do it. It's supposed to be a somehow simple operation but I feel that I'm never getting it quite right, so maybe someone can point my mistakes.

I've been using the Toko No Fluoro Hot Wax Blue. I melt and pour with the iron and flatten it up, but from this step already I wonder if I don't put too much wax on, because when scrapping it looks like some areas are too thick. I might also not scrap enough, because in some places there's still a blue tinted kind of thin layer. Which is still visible after a week of skiing, and now I see all kinds of gradient levels on the boards, which makes me think from the get go it was too much.

I'll attach two pics that show the state after six days of skiing( French Alps, from -5C to +5C air temperature if that's relevant), no extra wax being applied during those days.

They kinds look like crap now, I'm sure I'm doing something wrong here, anyone has any pointers to what that might be ?

Click image for larger version  Name:	IMG_20200106_151427.jpg Views:	1 Size:	3.81 MB ID:	261326Click image for larger version  Name:	IMG_20200106_151606.jpg Views:	1 Size:	3.39 MB ID:	261328
    Attached Files
    RVL8 Blunt XL
    Spruce Raptors 125LE
    Revel8 2010 Revolt Trees 105cm
    Spruce Yellow/Red 120s

I think this is mostly a symptom of the hardness of this particular wax. I've experienced this as well, but only ever when using cold temp wax. Cold temp wax seems to harden a lot more than other waxes, making it more difficult to spread evenly and scrape.

If you're not experiencing any sticking or trouble gliding, it probably isn't an issue even though it doesn't look great. To even it out, you could try taking a scotch-brite pad to it, essentially sanding down some of that wax.