Release Vs. Non-Release

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Release Vs. Non-Release

I am sure that this topic has been previously discussed, but I wanted to hear more opinions. I am new to skiboarding and own some skiboards with non-release bindings. I love the feel of them, but as my experience progresses and I start performing more difficult tricks I worry that I might be putting my physical condition in jeopardy. I was just wondering what were peoples preferences and why?

Yes, already discussed here: http://www.skiboardsonline.com/vbull...=&threadid=248

Here's the section from it:

Q. Do skiboard bindings release?
    A. Some do, some do not. Examples of non-release bindings are: Bomber Elite, Groove X1 and Snowjam's Extreme II. The best releasable solution, and the only ones we sell, are the Spruce Mountain Riser/Bindings . They use the universal 4cm x 4cm insert pattern and allow more board to flex then any other release binding solution, by far.

Q. Which are better, 4x4 non-release or 4x4 release bindings (Spruce risers/bindings)?
    A. As with most things there are pro's and con's to both. The decision is a personal one because the weight each person places on each pro and con varies depending on the individual.

*Non-release bindings*
    Pro's:
    - Typically less expensive then release bindings
    - Lighter then release bindings
    - Easier to adjust
    - Offers the tightest connection possible between boots and boards
    Con's:
    - Do not release (for some this is a pro)
    - Slightly more difficult to get into especially for beginners
    - Most mountains require leashes with non-release bindings however to mitigate the downside to leashes we recommend the low profile coil and string leashes we sell in our "protection" section

*Release bindings*
    Pro's:
    - Step-in
    - They release
    - Some offer the possibility to use brakes instead of leashes
    Con's:
    - Heavier then non-release