Featured Rider - LYK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Featured Rider - LYK

Next up in the series is LYK. A little bit of international flair since he hails from Hong Kong. An international man of mystery and jet-setter.

SBOL: What’s the story behind your forum name “LYK”? What is your real name?

Nothing especially interesting - LYK are the initials to my name in Chinese. Ken is usually what i go by.

SBOL: What do you do for a living and what do you love about it?

Im an airline pilot (first officer) at an asian airline, flying an airbus (or as boeing afficianardos would call it - a scarebus). It is an lifetime interest that I was lucky enough to make a decent career out of - for me, flying is nearly as addictive as snowsports (actually more so). I still try to find some time to stay current in small general aviation airplanes in my spare time when I can.

SBOL: Can you tell us a little bit about living in Hong Kong?

Its a pretty hectic place, like any major metropolis would be. Way too warm in the summer, and unfortunately doesn't get any snow. Its also a very awkward place in the increasing complicated geo-political landscape in this region - its future is rather uncertain. Its a good place to make a few bucks while you're young. Not the place I'd want to retire in though.

SBOL: You obviously aren’t skiboarding in Hong Kong. What are your “home” mountains? Can you tell us a little bit about these resorts?

Well there are actually a couple of indoor carpet skiing outfits here, and an indoor snowdome 30 mins to the north in Shenzhen. But for real deal, you can't beat northern or central Japan for that good powder.