Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering Spruce 120s

Happy winter everyone!

I am considering purchasing a set of Spruce 120s this year. I'm realizing that I'll never ride in the park and the only thing I'll ever ride will be groomers and powder, just your average green and blue hills, maybe the odd "easy" black diamond.

I already have several other boards: My first boards were Rumspringas, and a few years ago I got Revolts. My wife owns Tanshos and I've ridden them a few times. My consistent issue with all of them is stability. I'm not really in the best shape and I usually find it difficult to get on edge to a proper carve. I figure since Spruce 120s are longer, they might be easier. Not being able to carve properly is frustrating me to the point I'm thinking of *gasp* going back to skiing for a while in order to try and develop better form with poles. I haven't ridden skis in over 10 years since I was a beginner, but maybe that's really not my problem. I've been trying for 3-4 years now and I just can't "get it."

Should I maybe go back to skis and take some proper lessons at a resort? Would longer skiboards help? Could it be something else? I'm sure I've asked this before but has anyone else ever been in the situation where you just can't "get" yourself to carve?

SBOL Team III Rider

Skiboards
       Revel8 2010 Revolt "Bullseye" 105cm
       Revel8 2009 Rumspringa "MaryJane" 103cm
       Revel8 2009 Tansho 90cm (BriGirl's)
    Bindings
       Spruce 2011 Pro Jr Risers & Head Release Bindings
       Spruce 2010 Pro Lite Risers & Roxy Release Bindings (BriGirl's)
    Other
       Salomon 2009 Mission x4 boots
       Sims T22 Omen helmet

Originally posted by bri_guy View Post

Should I maybe go back to skis and take some proper lessons at a resort? Would longer skiboards help? Could it be something else? I'm sure I've asked this before but has anyone else ever been in the situation where you just can't "get" yourself to carve?