What are(n't) skiboards?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are(n't) skiboards?

Hi and Welcome Back Everyone!!! I hope everyone had a great summer, and you're looking forward to the snow as much as I am.

On the weekend, my wife and I were at a ski sale in Collingwood, ON, and we picked her up a pair of Elan "Freeline" 99cm skiboards. The reason? They're super narrow (like Snowblades), she's rented them before, and best of all, they were half price! And she's an absolute beginner. Once she gets better and she's sure she likes skiboarding we'll look into upgrading her to R8's or Allz or whatever (of course!)

My question is more of nomenclature. "Snowblade" was a trademark of Adidas-Salomon, and 3 other companies (to my knowledge) made competing products--Firefly, Head, and Elan, but they were also informally referred to as "snowblades." I would refer to them as skiboards, but someone commented here saying that Head "Salamanders" are not skiboards because they do not have the 4x4 mount.

Who is right? What is the proper name for these Elan/Head/Firefly type of ~99cm skis?

Melissa's new skiboards
    "snowblades"
    41.67%
    "skiboards"
    41.67%
    Other
    16.67%

SBOL Team III Rider

Skiboards
       Revel8 2010 Revolt "Bullseye" 105cm
       Revel8 2009 Rumspringa "MaryJane" 103cm
       Revel8 2009 Tansho 90cm (BriGirl's)
    Bindings
       Spruce 2011 Pro Jr Risers & Head Release Bindings
       Spruce 2010 Pro Lite Risers & Roxy Release Bindings (BriGirl's)
    Other
       Salomon 2009 Mission x4 boots
       Sims T22 Omen helmet

I think most folks would consider those snowblades as a way to distinguish a narrow, assymetric , non center mount design from the wider center mount 4 x4 skiboards. There are a ton of snowblade clones which are similar and based on the original Salomon snowblade ( trademark name ) design. (90 cm and 99cm long)

more information here
    http://www.skiboardsonline.com/vbull...ead.php?t=1218