Featured Rider: valmorel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Featured Rider: valmorel

This is the second in our Featured Rider series. Up this time is valmorel - a long-time forum member, treasure trove of skiboard and skiing knowledge and all around gentleman.

SBOL: What is your real name and where do you live?

valmorel: David Stevens and I live in a little bankrupt country in Northern Europe called England. So far the USA has not invaded.

SBOL: How long you have been skiing and how did you into the sport of skiboarding?

valmorel: I have been skiing for over thirty years, so as a sport it looks like it might stick with me. I am totally self-taught. I got into skiboarding by accident really. I bought a close ski buddy and lifelong friend a pair of Snowblades for Christmas, and it suddenly occurred to me that I would not be able to share the experience, so I bought myself a pair too. Used them for the first time in the Italian Dolomites around 2000. Was totally blown away. NEVER went back to skis. To be fair, I was a bit bored with skiing anyway and totally ticked off with having to have so much kit to do such a simple thing. Skiboards were a revelation. Discovered SBOL by surfing and got into 'real' skiboards from there.

SBOL: What is your take on how the sport of skiboarding has progressed over the years? Where do you think the sport is headed? Do you like where things are going right now?

valmorel: Firstly skiboarding is very much a niche sport. That is always going to make development difficult because the sales needed to fund it are limited. As far as I can see only SBOL is involved in development. Other manufacturers are either static or copying SBOL. With the number of experimental products practical in any given period limited, our option to experiment is also slowed.