Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newb Progression (possibly interesting to others just starting)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb Progression (possibly interesting to others just starting)

6', 225 lbs. complete newb.
    revolt trees w/ tyrolia attack 13 bindings and spruce risers.
    boots set on "hike" mode instead of "ride" mode (for maximum flex i've learned through trial and error).

here is my progression, never really ski'd before (grew up waterskiing, slalom and mostly hydrosliding)

1st day, Keystone, 01/15, fell several times, all in all, good few hours getting balanced on them on the bunny hill and then feeling very uncomfortable on a big green (took too big a leap in difficulty of hill).

2nd day, Winter Park, 02/07/15, knew the perfect hill to start off with, discovery park, simple small green. To my surprise, had an awesome 4 hour lesson from badass skiboarder krillinakw (as I mentioned in another thread). Went down this hill a dozen times, tried the next size up green, (Jack Kendrick), didn't feel comfortable, went back to discovery and ran the small hill a few more times, fell several times altogether, mainly letting the wrong edge bite it, mainly riding flat and kindof wedgey.

3rd day, Winter Park, 02/14/15, went back to discovery park and rode the same small hill 20 more times, didn't fall, felt I was starting to parallel pretty good, albeit still flat and slow. got very bored w/ that hill, but called it a day.

4th day, Winter Park, 02/18/15, skipped discovery park and went back to the medium size green, "jack kendrick", and ran it half a dozen times, didn't fall once, considered it quite an achievement, called it a day. Felt I got really good at stopping, as well as stopping at the right time (at the crest of a steep slope). I'll eventually not do this, but for now it's comforting to be in that much control already. Also felt I was parallel and on edge.