Andrei's First Backcountry Skiboard Trip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Andrei's First Backcountry Skiboard Trip

One of the newest members of our Shredfest family is Andrei who many of us met at the last Shredfest. Andrei is engineer by trade and an avid hiker, backpacker , snowshoer , and snowboarder. He has been on skis maybe 7 times in his life and has never been on skiboards. He ran into my buddies Billy and Jeff and I during one of our backcountry trips . He was with a group of snowshoers and was very intrigued by our short skis /skiboards. He contacted me on SBOL and inquired about how to learn more about skiboards and especially backountry applications for skiboards and short skis. I told him about Shredfest and he decided to attend. He came out to the meet and greet on Saturday night and spent Sunday morning with our group at Heavenly . He rented some ski boots and tried out Fightingforair's Sherpa . He amazed all of us as he rocked those Sherpas on the Heavenly groomers and in moguls. No way did he look like a first timer . He was eager to go on one of our backcountry trips and was eager to try the Rockered Condors with his snowboard boots. I invited Andrei along on one of our backcountry adventures yesterday. Remember, although Andrei is a skilled snowshoer and snowboarder he has never ever ridden a skiboard other then the Sherpa and certainly is not experienced on short skiboards. He has also never descended in powder or backcountry snow on skis or skiboards but was game for a first time experience on the RC in the backcountry! I did warn him that the RC has something of a reputation as an expert's skiboard especially in challenging backcountry conditions and is not the most stable of ski boards. Since he had done so well on the Sherpa I offered him a Fritschi mounted Sherpa for his first backcountry trip ... but he was very eager to try out the RC and I was happy to oblige . I have a second backcountry RC set up and accompanied And