Traveling with your gear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Traveling with your gear

Hey, I have a work trip in Vermont, and I heard the hills were good there, so I figured I'd bring my ski gear and boards with me.
    I've never done something like this before though, how do you guys travel with gear, do I need a large bag for my winter jacket and skiboots and boards, and check that all into luggage?
    Also, where do you leave your shoes and bags and stuff when you're at the hills so it doesn't get stolen? I usually always have a car to store stuff in, but I definitely won't while in the states. I imagine I gotta pay for a locker I'm guessing?

If you are flying start by checking the airline’s checked bag policy. For instance Southwest will allow you to count a ski bag + a boot bag as one piece of checked luggage. Others hit you with extra charges for snow sports gear or for a bag over their weight limits (usually 50 lbs).

For me my skiboards, helmet, heavy ski layers, gloves, and such all go in a 140 cm junior ski bag from Level 9 sports as one of my checked bags. My second checked bag is just normal clothes and such. My ski boots and goggles go in a carry on. The goggles just so they don’t get crushed and my boots because they NEVER leave my sight while traveling. I could replace all my checked gear with rental gear but rental ski boots is a surefire way to ruin a ski trip. Don’t check your boots.

As for stashing you stuff at the lodge you have a few options:

1) Some ski hills are safe to leave you bag out and provide racks or shelves for bags. My local hills in PA are safe to leave a bag of shoes and spare clothes without fear of theft. Many VT hills, especially the smaller ones, are like this.

2) Some hills, in order to keep tables and space available in the lodges, offer complementary bag check. Give the hills you’re visiting a call and ask if they offer this.